Vegans of Color

Because we don’t have the luxury of being single-issue

how can we cosign the brutality? February 27, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — nosnowhere @ 1:50 am

thefreeslave writes:

What does it do to the spirit of a human being to eat the flesh of an animal? What does it mean that we don’t know what the system of production does to these animals – and what does it mean that we don’t care? How can the spiritual man or woman co-sign the brutality, the savagery inflicted on animals and then complain about the petty bullshit that they suffer? Can one exist without the other? I don’t think so.

Oh, I know, its easy to dismiss animals as things, we are “higher mammals,” etc. That might be true; the problem is, claiming to be higher while actually behaving worse than that which we classify as lower is an American tradition. The white man said he was superior while raping and ravaging whole populations of Native Americans and blacks, ravaging and raping the land for good measure. And the animals. So while I understand the temptation to assert my personhood at the expense of animals, how can I? And how do I know that God/Goddess/The Great Spirit don’t have plans for animals that I can’t understand, see or comprehend? By destroying animal life, how do I know that I’m not sinning my black ass off?

But the good news: The Revolution can begin this second for all of us black folks.

STOP EATING MEAT, FISH, FOWL, CANDY or any other synthetic foods.

 

2 Responses to “how can we cosign the brutality?”

  1. … I just found you thru a friend… and I do my own searching here and there for black and brown vegan folks… I own a veg restaurant in Denver, CO and I’m the Health Editor for originalthoughtmag.com…. its so needed and the conversation about environmental and dietary racism is a big one… and one bite at a time original people are digesting the right foods (mental and physical)… I just wanted to say please and thank you.
    Peace

  2. vegansofcolor Says:

    the conversation about environmental and dietary racism is a big one

    Yes yes yes!!! It’s so great to keep finding more folks every day who are digging into this stuff. Thanks for commenting.

    Nadia, thanks for posting this. The post is excellent.

    Niggas in Baghdad and Beantown get treated no different than Elsie the cow.

    This line from the post seems relevant to the PETA & race discussion on LJ recently. I suppose the people over there wouldn’t be swayed.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers