Vegans of Color

Because we don’t have the luxury of being single-issue

Cultural Imperialism, Racism, & Veg*nism April 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — johanna @ 12:13 am
Tags: ,

Via Breeze Harper of the Sistah Vegan Project: an essay called “Deep & Shallow Vegetarianism” by Dr. Michael W. Fox. I don’t agree with all of it, but it’s an interesting read.

Also, I recently came across this old article from Satya: “Racism and the Animal Rights Movement”.

 

3 Responses to “Cultural Imperialism, Racism, & Veg*nism”

  1. Thanks for sharing these.

    I absolutely disagree with many of the ideas in the first article (haven’t read the second article yet), but I thank you for sharing.

  2. Royce Drake Says:

    I agree with many of the ideas of Fox, when it comes to imperialistic “shallow” vegetarianism. Not so much with his other ideas.

  3. Julio Says:

    I agree with much of Dr. Fox though not all of it.
    I’ve prescribed to his sort of ideas before I read his article. I think of vegetarianism/veganism as not being a global diet; though I do feel it is appropriate for the USA and many other industrialized countries.

    I’ve been a vegetarian for 10yrs and I know that in many places Humans & Animals leave in a near symbiosis that is not vegan but very appropriate ecologically, economically, & dare I say ethically.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers