Vegans of Color

Because we don’t have the luxury of being single-issue

Sistah Vegan Book Release Update September 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Dr. A. Breeze Harper @ 10:30 am

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to update folk and let them know that my book,

svamazon

Sistah Vegan: Food, Identity, Health, and Society: Black Female Vegans Speak is now available for pre-order.

I am very excited about this, as it’s been nearly 4.5 years since its inception.

Best,

Breeze

 

20 Responses to “Sistah Vegan Book Release Update”

  1. mel Says:

    Congratulations!

  2. karol. Says:

    hi breeze,

    HUGE CONGRATS!!!! so amazing

    any chance you’d be interested in coming back on Animal Voices to talk about the book, now that it’s out?

    drop me a line:

    animalvoices AT gmail DOT com

    karol from AV
    animalvoices.ca

  3. mangocheeks Says:

    Hi Breeze,
    I am not vegan, but a vegetarian, but I would so love to get my hands on your book. I guess I will have to order it over the web though, as it is unlikely that the bookshops in the U.K will stock it.

  4. Isa Says:

    Mazel tov! I ordered it, can’t wait!

  5. johanna Says:

    Breeze, I’m so excited for you! I can’t wait to read it. Thanks for all the fabulous stuff you do — you contribute so much to the public conversation about veganism & race & I feel lucky to know you!

  6. Crys T Says:

    Enhorabuena! This is going on my Wish List now!

  7. Athena Says:

    Oh my word! I put in my pre order immediately. I’ve been waiting for this book for almost 2 years now. It helped me to cope when I had not realized that there were other vegans of color…Long story short, I can’t wait to get the book and congratulations!

  8. noemi Says:

    thank you for writing this-I cannot wait to get it in my hands.

  9. Doh Driver Says:

    Hi Breeze,
    I’ve been anxiously waiting for this, and want to carry it in my vegan store. Can you please send me the publisher contact info?
    I’m guessing you can see my email address to reach me.
    Thanks, and congratulations!!

  10. Message below from my editor for those who want to order in bulk for resale.

    Breeze
    ——-
    Thank you for your interest in Lantern Books, and Sistah Vegan in particular. We, too, are excited about the book. It’s planned release is March, 2010. We may have books before that date.

    Our warehouse (the best way to set up an account and place resale orders) is Books International. They can be reached at 703-661-1500 or steinermail@presswarehouse.com.

    Thank you,

    Kara Davis
    Lantern Books

  11. Katie Says:

    Hi Breeze -

    I work at a bookstore that’s interested in ordering your books in bulk straight from Lantern, and when we called them they said we couldn’t pre-order at all and that there was “no due date” for your book. Now I’m sad! I just want to let you know in case there’s something you can do about it.

    Katie

  12. Katie,

    Strange. I do not know why this is the case, as Kara just wrote me this morning.

    I’ll look into this.

    -Breeze

  13. Niki Esko Says:

    I’m excited too.

  14. Erica412 Says:

    Congrats! I would love to read a book like this! I was wondering if you happen to have met any vegan artists in your travels? Im looking for someone to interview in the Bay Area, Ca. If anyone knows anybody, let me know! : )

  15. dawn Says:

    I have been waiting for this for sometime. Thanks for having the confidence and love of veganism and healing one self to write this piece

    thanks

  16. Maho Says:

    Congratulations, it is a beautiful book! It is very exciting to know this.

    Peace,
    Maho

  17. Joselle Says:

    Breeze, congratulations. I can’t wait to read the book. I’ve been waiting for it for a long time. I remember finding your site before I ever went vegan and you were a part of my transition and making sense of things. Thank you.

  18. Tessa Says:

    Adding it to my Christmas/Yule list or maybe even birthday if need be. Congrats on your book meh dear.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers