Vegans of Color

Because we don’t have the luxury of being single-issue

“Sistah vegan needs a ‘black version’ of Vegetarian Myth” May 16, 2010

Filed under: vegan — Dr. A. Breeze Harper @ 4:35 pm

Sistah Vegan was reviewed on “Civil Eats” the other day. I enjoyed the review and I think Andrea understands the nature of my work.

However, in terms of comments….I think it’s funny that commenters will critique a book before reading it. I guess this human being below (comment 2) is projecting anger and hate issues on a book they have yet to read. They also seem to not understand that I look at veganism from a cultural perspective, looking at how race, racism, racialization experiences influence how one understands or transitions into veganism. Their comment doesn’t reflect that they read this. Anyway, I often like to share how my book and research are [mis]interpreted by people who don’t even bother reading the book. Here is the link to Civil Eats: http://civileats.com/2010/05/10/sistah-vegan-a-rethinking-of-race-food/ which is called “Sistah Vegan: A rethinking of race and food”. Below are 2 comments from that blog thus far. The first one is positive, the 2nd one is unproductive, but I’ve chosen not to engage with this person by not responding. I feel like it would make more sense for them to eventually read the book and spend a fair amount of time on my blog to see what I’m talking about.

Comments from the Civil Eats blog so far:

  1. by Valerie

    On May 11, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Great review.
    I just finished this book and enjoyed it very much.
    Very thought provoking. As a vegan woman of color, I was very excited when I first heard of Ms Harper’s work, and even more exited to see it finally come to fruition.

  2. by yay food

    On May 12, 2010 at 12:40 am

    This book could use a black version of “The Vegetarian Myth” by Lierre Keith or even websites like wholehealthsource.blogspot.com as a rebuttal to the health claims.

    A vegan diet will exacerbate existing nutrient deficiencies in black American women because the plant-based sources of nutrients simply do not offer enough bioavailability.

    The black American community needs better access to high-quality animal products, not *just* more vegetables, and definitely not more grains and legumes (which have scientifically demonstrated bad effects including depleting nutrients in the body without massive amounts of prep before eating).

 

8 Responses to ““Sistah vegan needs a ‘black version’ of Vegetarian Myth””

  1. Erica Says:

    Wow, I’m reading the book now, and so far it is wonderful! I am not a POC, but I still find it very informative and supportive. I appreciate the variety of perspectives from spiritual, to health, to animal rights. There is something in this book for everyone to relate to.

    The person who left the negative comment obviously knows nothing about the benefits of the vegan diet or the destructive social implications of eating meat, and maybe even nothing about health in general, considering how outrageous it is to claim the grains/legumes are worse for the body than meat. Show me the way to the nutritionists that recommend meat over whole grains? Her claim that grains take “massive” amounts of prep is a pretty common defense for meat eaters that just want to comfort themselves with fallacies…similar to Pollan’s claim to veg*ism was too difficult because of all the time it took to chop vegetables. LOL. Sigh. flame throwers.

  2. Valerie Says:

    Wow. Hmm, That first review was nice. (I just realized it was mine. lol) The second one “smells” of Weston A. Price Foundation.
    But hey, I could be wrong. But I doubt it. :-)

  3. Cheyenne Says:

    I’m reading your book now, and it is absolutely beautiful; I love it dearly. You’re doing really amazing and important work, so please don’t feel discouraged by crazy reviews!

  4. Wow. Commenter 2 probably believes all black people eat chicken.

    I wonder how I can veganize flat bread. *native here*

  5. Keidi Awadu Says:

    I would love to interview the author asap on our Internet webcast. Please visit the site http://www.LIBRadio.com and see what we have been promoting for over 8 years. I can be reached at the following:

    Keidi 323.902.2919
    keidi@libradio.net

    Congrats on the work. I look forward to our discourse.

  6. Von Says:

    The perosn who made that second comment should read the China study.Meat even organic meat is harmful to the body.And you acutually get more nutrients with a plant based diet.

  7. […] I was raised solely on healthy foods. My mom was one of the first people to desire to eat organic. Here is a great blog about black women who have POLITICAL reasons for being […]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 313 other followers