Vegans of Color

Because we don’t have the luxury of being single-issue

March 9, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Dr. A. Breeze Harper @ 1:23 am

Dr. A. Breeze Harper:

Hello everyone. I just wanted to share with you that today I received my doctorate. I’m officially Dr. Amie “Breeze ” Harper. You can click on the link below to read more and download my dissertation for free on my latest blog post: http://wp.me/pzDsy-D2 . My dissertation is titled: “Vegan Consciousness and the Commodity Chain: On the Neoliberal, Afrocentric, and Decolonial Politics of ‘Cruelty-Free'” .

Originally posted on The Sistah Vegan Project:

Today it became official: I am Dr. Amie “Breeze” Harper. Thank you to everyone who helped to make this possible.

image

The photo above is of me holding my baby daughter this morning with the document stating I have been awarded my PhD.

Dissertation Title: Vegan Consciousness and the Commodity Chain: On the Neoliberal, Afrocentric, and Decolonial Politics of ‘Cruelty-Free.’

Dissertation Abstract

In this dissertation, I analyze how neoliberal whiteness, race consciousness, decolonization, and anti-racism operate within three different vegan food guides: PETA’s Vegan Shopping Guide, Queen Afua’s Sacred Woman, and Food Empowerment Project’s Ethical Food Choices. PETA, Queen Afua, and Food Empowerment Project are all located within the landscape of vegan politics to produce “ethical” spaces across multiple scales (i.e. consciousness, the body and the home). However, these three sites represent different engagements with food commodities for achieving ethical consumption. Such differences are not so much about…

View original 446 more words

 

10 Responses to “”

  1. congratulations! what a great example to your daughter, rock on Dr. “Breeze’! :))

  2. That is so awesome! Congratulations! What an accomplishment!

  3. craig Says:

    Congrats!

  4. Doris Says:

    This is fantastic! Congratulations, Dr. Harper!

  5. Patra Says:

    Whoa! Way to manifest a vision through much effort! Congrats to you and your family!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Congratulations!! What an amazing accomplishment!

  7. arievergreen Says:

    Reblogged this on Living a Vegan Life in Ithaca and commented:
    Read Dr. Amie “Breeze” Harper’s dissertation: “Vegan Consciousness and the Commodity Chain: On the Neoliberal, Afrocentric, and Decolonial Politics of ‘Cruelty-Free” (PDF, available until March 15).

  8. lauren Says:

    A warm congratulations to you, Dr. Harper! The work you do is so very important and I look forward to reading and seeing the things you achieve in terms of racial, gender, and animal justice.

  9. S. King Says:

    Congratulations, Dr. Harper! I’m so happy for you. Your hard work has paid off!

  10. Ifetayo Says:

    Congratulations my Sistah. Well done and much success!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 302 other followers