Vegans of Color

Because we don’t have the luxury of being single-issue

[Racial Reality] Check Out At a Berkeley Organic Grocery Store…and the Challenge of ‘White’ Apology vs. Engaged Compassion July 20, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Dr. Amie "Breeze" Harper @ 1:28 am

Hemp

I created the image above after my racial reality check out at a Berkeley organic grocery store the other day. I had my 1, 3 and 6 year olds in tow. They were helping me pick out their organic vegan treats for the playground. The store is located in a predominantly white area of Berkeley. I rarely see Black patrons there. Oh, and for those of you who are reading my blog for the first time, I am a Black American cisgender woman with two daughters and a son.

Usually, after I am done paying for my groceries, my 3 and 6 year olds always ask the person working at the register for a sticker. There is a very kind Black woman who works there with a very big heart. She was stationed at the register that day. I see her there at the store all the time and she is always asking…

View original post 2,085 more words

 

Leave a Reply

