Vegans of Color

Because we don’t have the luxury of being single-issue

Must I Be Killed By a Racist Cop While Traveling to a Vegan Event for You to Finally Get it? July 23, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Dr. Amie "Breeze" Harper @ 12:42 pm

Book signing Sistah Vegan(Photo: Dr. A. Breeze Harper doing a book signing of Sistah Vegan at Farm Sanctuary, Orland CA Summer 2010)

I just wanted to humbly celebrate the 5th year anniversary of Sistah Vegan: Black Female Vegans Speak on Food, Identity, Health, and Society (Lantern Books 2010).

In the photo above, it was my first talk I gave about the book at Farm Sanctuary in Orland, CA. I talked about whiteness. I cannot believe it’s been 5 years since it was published.

And my Sun isn’t a baby anymore. He’s 6, but still sits on my lap.

wpid-dsc_0004.jpeg

Take time to watch the video from Farm Sanctuary and let me know if you think there has been progress or not over the past 5 years when it comes the mainstream AR and vegan spaces actively trying to dismantle systems os racism, whiteness and speciesism at the same time.

And been thinking a lot…

View original post 425 more words

 

Leave a Reply

